The Testing Book Review

Book: The Testing

Genre: Fiction

Author: Joelle Charbonneau

Synopsis:

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer. Isn’t that what they say? But how close is too close when they may be one and the same? 

The Seven Stages War left much of the planet a charred wasteland. The future belongs to the next generation’s chosen few who must rebuild it. But to enter this elite group, candidates must first pass The Testing—their one chance at a college education and a rewarding career. 

Cia Vale is honoured to be chosen as a Testing candidate; eager to prove her worthiness as a University student and future leader of the United Commonwealth. But on the eve of her departure, her father’s advice hints at a darker side to her upcoming studies–trust no one. 

But surely she can trust Tomas, her handsome childhood friend who offers an alliance? Tomas, who seems to care more about her with the passing of every gruelling (and deadly) day of the Testing. 

To survive, Cia must choose: love without truth or life without trust.

Hello guys! Today I am reviewing The Testing. Enjoy!!!

So first of all, this book is a lot like the Hunger Games. It almost seems like a copy off of it. However, as I’ve progressed through the series itself, I’ve discovered that there are some original ideas to it. I actually really loved this book. It was honestly one of the best YAs I’ve ever read. Let me list some reasons why you NEED to read this book!

  1. The characters were not annoying, typical, or cliche. Many of the characters were actually really complex. A lot of them had secrets about alterior motives or things like that which definitely added some suspense and curiosity to the story.
  2. The suspense and twists to the story were legitimate! I’m pretty sure that there was just about nothing that I could really predict accurately while reading that book. The author was really good at tricking me. 😂 There were so many things that I did not see coming.
  3. The book never got tiring. I could barely put this book down because I always wanted to know what was coming next. I personally think it’s pretty amazing when you get a book that has no dry/boring spots.

So those are the main reasons why you really really really should read this book. Now unfortunatley, there is one thing that really annoyed me about this book. The main character, Cia, constantly, and I mean constantly refers to all the things that she learned from her family. It wouldn’t be a big deal, except she brings it up at least twice per chapter. She’ll say something like:

” My parents taught me. . .”

“My father/mother always taught me the importance of . . .”

“Growing up with my brothers taught me. . .”

“My family always taught me. . .”

Anyway, it just got to a point where it was absolutely way way way too much. This book would be perfect in my eyes if it weren’t for that highly annoying factor.

So with that being said, I am rating this book with a 4.5 out of 5 stars!

Image result for 4.5 out of five stars

Thanks you guys so much for checking out this post! xoxo

Image result for book lover gif

1 thought on “The Testing Book Review

Leave a comment